Albay has a new governor

Al Francis Bichara is now bowing out as governor of the Province of Albay and will be replaced by Legazpi City Mayor Noel Rosal this July 1, 2022.

Bichara lost to Rosal getting only one in every four votes. As of this writing, Bichara got 227,627 votes while Rosal garnered 453,013 based on unofficial results from the transmitted 95.72% election returns.

All of Albay delivered for Rosal, an indicator of the province’s growing discontent for the incumbent, and a strong dissatisfaction on the outgoing governor’s handling of the pandemic.

The biggest votes that went to Rosal came from Legazpi City which delivered 80%.

Grex Lagman also won as vice governor beating Harold Imperial 291,018 as of posting time.

For Provincial Board Members, Glenda Bongao, Rey Bragais and Victor Ziga, Jr., took the top three spots for the First District. Vince Baltazar, Melissa Abadeza and Rolly Rosal also won in the Second District while Jesap Salceda, Jacem Palmiano, Dante Araneta and Eva Josephine Ribaya became the winners in the Third District.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s