Bicol to be under Modified ECQ by May 16

Finally, a sigh of relief as the Bicol Region is declared as a low risk area and the whole region is considered to be under the modified general community quarantine (GCQ). This is the announcement of Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque on Tuesday, May 12.

Under Modified GCQ, movement goes back to normal but mask-wearing, physical distancing, and other health protocols will be enforced. Work in areas under Modified GCQ is also allowed both in private and public sector bit with strict observance of the said protocols.

The re-classification of Bicol as well as the rest of the country is based on the two indicators: case doubling time (how many times it takes positive cases to double) and critical care utilization rate (percentage of isolation beds, intensive care units, and ventilators used).

The list of areas based on the reclassification is as follows:

Modified ECQ (high risk)

  • Metro Manila
  • Laguna
  • Cebu City

GCQ (moderate risk)

  • Region II – Cagayan Valley (Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City)
  • Region III – Central Luzon (Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City)
  • Region IV-A – Calabarzon, except Laguna (Cavite, Quezon, Rizal, Batangas, Lucena City)
  • Cordillera Administrative Region (Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City)
  • Region VII – Central Visayas, except Cebu City (Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City)
  • Region IX – Zamboanga Peninsula (Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, Isabela City)
  • Region XI – Davao Region (Davao City, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental)
  • Region XIII – Caraga (Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City)

Modified GCQ (low risk)

  • Region I – Ilocos (Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City)
  • Region IV-B – Mimaropa (Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City)
  • Region V – Bicol (Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Legazpi City, Naga City)
  • Region VI – Western Visayas (Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, lloilo, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Bacolod City)
  • Region VIII – Eastern Visayas (Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City)
  • Region X – Northern Mindanao (Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City)
  • Region XII – Soccsksargen (North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City)
  • Bangasamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s