Sorsogon SP proposes Congressional redistricting

The Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Sorsogon approved Monday, January 28, the proposal that seeks to divide the province into three Congressional Districts. The province currently has two Congressional Districts.

The redistricting will be as follows:

  • District 1: composed of the City of Sorsogon and the municipalities of Donsol, Pilar and Castilla.
  • District 2: composed of the municipalities of Casiguran, Juban, Magallanes, Bulan, Matnog
  • District 3: composed of Prieto Diaz, Gubat, barcelona, Bulusan, Irosin and Sta. Magdalena

The proposal, however, still needs the approval of the Congress especially considering that the proposed Districts 2 and 3 fall below the 250,000 population requirement. District 2 has 243,377 population while District 3 only has 208,360.

District 1, on the other hand, has 350,212 population.

Sorsogon is not the only province in the region with two districts. The other one is Camarines Norte. Catanduanes has lone district; Albay and Masbate both have three; and, Camarines Sur has five.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s