Tag: Politics

2019 Elections: CamSur Congressional Candidates

Is the Camarines Sur 2019 Congressional election following a plot in the Game of Thrones? The Andaya Clan has fielded Marissa Andaya and Maribel Andaya-Eusebio under the Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC) banner in the First and Second Districts, respectively. Marissa will replace the third-termer Nonoy while Maribel is challenging Luis Raymund Villafuerte. Luis was the … Continue reading 2019 Elections: CamSur Congressional Candidates


2019 Elections: Albay Provincial Candidates

The filing of candidacies for the 2019 elections revealed a few surprises in the Province of Albay. This is because of the events at the national level that necessitated some realignments at the local level. It should be noted that the 2019 election is a midterm election and will test the public's support for the … Continue reading 2019 Elections: Albay Provincial Candidates

2019 Elections: CamNorte Provincial Candidates

The 2019 gubernatorial elections in Camarines Norte is a rematch between incumbent Governor Edgardo Tallado and former Congresswoman Catherine Barcelona Reyes. In 2016, after battling sex scandal that caught national attention, Tallado edged out Reyes with a 2.3% vote-margin or around 5,000 votes. Will the rematch lead to Tallado's re-election? The full list of candidates … Continue reading 2019 Elections: CamNorte Provincial Candidates

Past governors of Bicol — Catanduanes

Catanduanes was once a part of Albay. On October 26, 1945, it was emancipated from Albay and was declared an island-province by virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 687. Based on records, gubernatorial elections for Catanduanes started in 1948. According to Prof. Alex De Guzman, when the island was still in transition to becoming a full-pledge … Continue reading Past governors of Bicol — Catanduanes

The Imperials in Bicol History (Last of the Series)

In the early part of 2008, I wrote a paper for the Institute for Popular Democracy (which I also presented in the PPSA) on the decline of the Imperials of Albay Province. The paper concludes that if the clan will not reinvent itself and if the members of the clan's later generation will not step … Continue reading The Imperials in Bicol History (Last of the Series)

Gubernatorial election results in Bicol

Except for Camarines Norte where results are still unavailable, Bicol has two new governors -- Rizalina Seachon Lanete of Masbate, and Raul Lee of Sorsogon. Albay's Joey Salceda, Camarines Sur's L-Ray Villafuerte, and Catanduanes's Joseph Cua were all re-elected. In general, our forecasts were true. We only failed in Masbate where Lanete won over the … Continue reading Gubernatorial election results in Bicol

2010 Congressional election results — Masbate

In Masbate, the clans still rule. As expected, incumbents Narciso Bravo Jr., and Antonio Kho were carried by their incumbency while Scott Lanete was carried by her clan's name to victory. Below are the congressional district election results: First District BRAVO, Narciso, Jr. R. LAKAS KABALIKAT NG MALAYANG PILIPINO CHRISTIAN MUSLIM DEMOCRATS 44,732 BUNAN, Karla … Continue reading 2010 Congressional election results — Masbate