Tag: 2010 elections

The Imperials in Bicol History (Last of the Series)

In the early part of 2008, I wrote a paper for the Institute for Popular Democracy (which I also presented in the PPSA) on the decline of the Imperials of Albay Province. The paper concludes that if the clan will not reinvent itself and if the members of the clan's later generation will not step … Continue reading The Imperials in Bicol History (Last of the Series)


How Noynoy bag the Bicol Vote

For the nth time, people are asking me: How did Noynoy Aquino bag the Bicol vote? For the nth time my reply was: He just hit the right strategy for the region, got Joey Salceda on his camp, and he won. But more than that, Noynoy changed the course of Bicolano voting behavior. Since 1992, … Continue reading How Noynoy bag the Bicol Vote

CamSur elections: A Double Whammy for the Alfelors

The recently concluded elections brought a double whammy to the Alfelor Clan, one of the major political forces in Camarines Sur. Felix "Nancing" Alfelor, Jr., lost his bid for provincial governor while his brother, and Emmanuel "Manny" Alfelor Sr., failed to catch the congressional seat by a very narrow margin. Hence the question: Where did … Continue reading CamSur elections: A Double Whammy for the Alfelors

Will Noynoy bag the Bicol vote?

If there is a best word to describe the way politics and elections is handled in the Philippines, it would be "tantiya". The reasons include the facts that Filipino politics is personality-based, and statistics seem to be an alien subject even among political analysts. This is undeniable because even the Commission on Elections, the supposedly … Continue reading Will Noynoy bag the Bicol vote?

Gubernatorial election results in Bicol

Except for Camarines Norte where results are still unavailable, Bicol has two new governors -- Rizalina Seachon Lanete of Masbate, and Raul Lee of Sorsogon. Albay's Joey Salceda, Camarines Sur's L-Ray Villafuerte, and Catanduanes's Joseph Cua were all re-elected. In general, our forecasts were true. We only failed in Masbate where Lanete won over the … Continue reading Gubernatorial election results in Bicol

2010 Congressional election results — Sorsogon

While Sorsogon's First District has a re-elected Congressman, the Second District has a new one. Below is the result for the province's two legislative Districts as of May 17: First District ESCUDERO, Salvador III H. NATIONALIST PEOPLES COALITION 89,512 HAMOR, Jose Edwin B. NACIONALISTA PARTY 63,287 Second District RAMOS, Deogracias, Jr. B. LIBERAL PARTY 30,945 … Continue reading 2010 Congressional election results — Sorsogon

2010 Congressional election results — Masbate

In Masbate, the clans still rule. As expected, incumbents Narciso Bravo Jr., and Antonio Kho were carried by their incumbency while Scott Lanete was carried by her clan's name to victory. Below are the congressional district election results: First District BRAVO, Narciso, Jr. R. LAKAS KABALIKAT NG MALAYANG PILIPINO CHRISTIAN MUSLIM DEMOCRATS 44,732 BUNAN, Karla … Continue reading 2010 Congressional election results — Masbate