Daraga placed under Comelec control

The Municipality of Daraga, Albay is now placed under the full control of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) by virtue of the Commission’s en banc Resolution Number 10479. This was declared by Comelec Spokesperson James Jimenez who, Tuesday, January 15, 2019.

The declaration to make Daraga in full control of the Comelec stemmed from the murder of mayoralty candidate and Ako Bicol party-list Rep. Rodel Batocabe last December 22, 2018. The suspect in the said murder is incumbent mayor Carlwyn Baldo.

Jimenez explained that the declaration will take effect immediately as soon as the resolution is published and shall last until the end of the election period.

When an area is declared under Comelec control, all national and local officials assigned in the area, including the military and police personnel, will be under the supervision of the poll body.

Apart from Daraga, Cotabato City was also declared under Comelec control by virtue of Comelec Resolution 10480 due to the deadly mall bombing incident in the area.##


2019 Elections: Barcelona, Sorsogon Candidates

Barcelona Mayor Wowo Fortes is vacating his seat as he bids for the Vice Gubernatorial post under the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC). To ensure that the hold on local power remains with the family, Cynthia Falcotelo-Fortes, is running for mayor, also under the NPC banner.

Competing with Cynthia is Arthur Nee Estuye who is running under the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) ticket.

In the Vice Mayoralty race, incumbent Vice Mayor Belea Fortades is seeking reelection under the NPC. She is being challenged by Agnes Escullar of PDP-Laban.

Will the all-female tandem of NPC win over the gender-balanced PDP-Laban?

The list of candidates is as follows:

Continue reading “2019 Elections: Barcelona, Sorsogon Candidates”

2019 Elections: Cataingan, Masbate Candidates

In Cataingan, the 2019 municipal elections is a tug-of-war between the Nationalist Peopple’s Coalition (NPC) and the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

Mayor Felipe Cabatana who jumped from the Liberal Party to PDP-Laban, is seeking re-election and is being challenged by Romeo Dalimocon Sr., of the NPC. Dalimocon ran as Councilor in 2016 but lost ranking 10th in a race for eight seats.

The seat to be vacated by Vice Mayor Bongbong Gonzales is being coveted by Thelma Ang (PDP-Laban) and Jaime Barte (NPC). Ang is an incumbent councilor.

The list of candidates is as follows:

Continue reading “2019 Elections: Cataingan, Masbate Candidates”

Kansyon kang Mahiwas na Dalan, I — Hamudyong

Magian an puso asin bitis, ako minapoon kan sakong pagbaklay,
Mabaskog, talingkas, an kinaban nasa sakong hampangan,
Dadarahon ako kan tinampong ini sain man gusto kong dumanan .

Puon ngonian, dae ako minahagad nin swerteng maray, ako na mismo iyan
Puon ngonian, dae na ako minanguyngoy, dae na minahalat, daeng ibang kaipuhan,
Tapos na ang mga pagreklamo sa laog, mga tambobong nin libro, mga pagyamutam,
Makusog asin kontento, ako minalakaw sa mahiwas na dalan.

An kinaban, maninigo na ‘yan,
Dae ko kaipuhan na magrani pa ang bitoon sa kalangitan,
Aram kong nasa tama na sindang kinamumugtakan,
Aram kong husto na sinda sa saindang kinabibilangan.

(Pero digdi daradara ko man giraray an dati asin mahamis na pa’sanon,
Dara ko sinda, mga lalaki asin babae, dara ko sinda sain man ako magduman,
Imposible nanggad na sinda sakong likayan,
Ako napapano sainda, asin sinda sakuyang man papanoan.)

via Kansyon kang Mahiwas na Dalan, I — Hamudyong

2019 Elections: Batuan, Masbate Candidates

While most of the politicians in Masbate are jumping to the national administration party, the incumbent officials of Batuan are staying with their original party — the National Unity Party (NUP). Mayor Charmax Jan Yuson and Bodgie Yuson will both seek reelection and are being challenged by Marco Martin Cam and Remegio Cebu Jr., respectively. The challengers are both from the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

The complete list of candidates is as follows:

For Mayor


For Vice Mayor

  1. CEBU, REMEGIO JR. (PDP-Laban)

Continue reading “2019 Elections: Batuan, Masbate Candidates”